Laxus and Mirajane: The Music Lovers

As if the chemistry existing between Laxus and Mirajane isn’t enough already, it’s also a fact that they are both music lovers. They are the only Fairy Tail mages known to own magic headphones. Heck this screencap from the wikipedia page even got me squealing:

image

I have this headcanon that it was actually Laxus who taught Mirajane how to play the guitar. Might I add that yellow (Laxus’ color) is such a beautiful color on Mirajane. 

image

In episode 20 (Natsu and the Dragon Egg), teenage Laxus was already spotted wearing magic headphones, while Mirajane was still in her wild child phase and during the time, she does not even seem to be the type to be inclined to music whatsoever. This leads me to believe that Laxus might have influenced Mirajane’s interest in music, seeing that he’s the first shown to be a music lover. This is also considering the fact that young Mirajane seems to embody the rocker angsty chick kind of image, and will probably take a liking towards any of Laxus’ interests. And I dunno if it’s just me, but considering how Laxus spends most of his time alone when he was younger, he seems to be the type who enjoys music by himself. I can totally imagine him playing the guitar when he’s in the mood. Oh god try to picture him playing the guitar askjdsjdfnskl

Just imagine the two of them, bonding over jamming sessions. <3 With the inevitable sweet moments while he teaches her how to strum the guitar. My heart skips a beat whenever I imagine it that way. I think Mira always had a soft spot for Laxus, even when she was still such a rebel. And as pointed out by some of my fellow Miraxus shippers, the song Mira wrote for mages in missions definitely sounds like something she wrote for Laxus. As the other Fairy Tail members pointed out, Laxus is rarely seen in the guild since he’s always out in missions. The lyrics of Mira’s song definitely contained some romantic context, which I personally think does not generally apply to mages in missions hehe :) She definitely incorporated some of her own personal feelings there <3 As a songwriter, she must have searched deep within her feelings to actually have come up with the lyrics. And if Laxus really influenced her interest in music, it just makes sense that she’ll feel inspired enough to write a song for/about him. The lyrics of her song right here, I find really sweet and romantic:

Gently stroking the table where you’re no longer by, today I’m alone by myself again
Looking up at the sky I make a wish, that you and I enjoy the same moonlight despite being so far apart

When I can’t help but cry and tremble
When I suffer setbacks in the dark
I still can’t forget
That I still have my home
That I still have people waiting for me

Those words that I asked you that day keep meandering by my ears, your smile that day keeps appearing before my eyes
All this keeps growing within my heart, you and I now enjoy the same moonlight despite being so far apart

All the suffering up until now 
Crying because of an unknown tomorrow
I still can’t forget
That I still have my home
That I still have people waiting for me

Only trying harder and harder to fly higher 
I believe in you so
Starting from now let’s weave our beautiful memories together

(I got the English lyrics from thedemonanddragonslayer) <3

When Mira sang this in Chapter 103, she was wearing a leopard-print dress:

image

And I find it cute and sweet that Laxus also sported a leopard-print polo during his return two chapters later in Chapter 105, which he also wore during the Battle of Fairy Tail:

image

Also in OVA 3: Memory Days, Laxus was a part of Mira’s memories. This was shown near the ending credits where each Fairy Tail member was reminiscing: 

image

This even strengthens my hunch that Laxus really played a major part in Mira’s past. It just amazes me how he can elicit extreme emotions from Mira. He made her angry. He made her cry. He made her smile. He made her jump for joy. Heck he even made her blush. He just really has this huge effect on her without even trying so hard, you know what I mean? <3

There’s just something about Mirajane and her memories. I think there’s a strong correlation between the two. I even had to highlight the last line in her song. Also in the fourth ending theme of the anime where Mirajane was the main character, the theme was about memories as well, with pictures and photo albums.

I think who Mirajane is now, she gives credit to her past for it. These precious memories of hers keep her going, keep her moving forward. She may not be so self-conscious about her physical strength and her powers now compared to before, but she sure holds her memories and past in high regards since these led her to become the person she is now. This is what makes her a stronger person, which I find really admirable. 

Anyway, their love for music is just another item to add to the continuously growing list of why Laxus and Mirajane are so perfect for each other. I also like the idea of Laxus being so cutesy and childlike, asking Mira to sing him to sleep, to which she will tease him at first but will eventually oblige to willingly. Mira’s angelic singing voice is just another addition to her endearing qualities, which will inevitably tug at Laxus’ heartstrings. <3

And It’s just so fun to imagine them dating in fancy restaurants around town, dancing, enjoying good music, and just basking in the beauty of each other’s company <3

  1. soul-and-lightning reblogged this from tsvaling
  2. famousflowermagazine reblogged this from mintuos
  3. decimfrombartending reblogged this from sagethesupermage
  4. awkwardauthorarianna reblogged this from sagethesupermage
  5. sagethesupermage posted this